Fracking, Clean and Green

This year, at a local Fourth of July parade, I heard a man who was standing next to me warning his companion about how dangerous and polluting fracking was. I was too timid to interject myself into the conversation and challenge his opinion, but I sure wish I could send him (and his companion) this article! Here’s a brief excerpt:

Consider the sworn testimony of former EPA administrator Lisa Jackson. Hardly a right-wing shill for Big Oil, Jackson told the House Government Reform Committee in May 2011: “I’m not aware of any proven case where the fracking process itself has affected water.” As Jackson said in April 2012, “In no case have we made a definitive determination that the fracking process has caused chemicals to enter groundwater.”

